## Awards

## ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award

The ACM SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award is an annual award for excellence in research in the area of autonomous agents. The award is intended to recognize researchers in autonomous agents whose current work is an important influence on the field. The award is an official ACM award, funded by an endowment created by ACM SIGAI from the proceeds of previous Autonomous Agents conferences. Prior to 2014, it was known as the ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Award.

Candidates for the award are nominated through an open nomination process. Previous winners of the award were Peter Stone (2016), Catherine Pelachaud (2015), Michael Wellman (2014), Jeffrey S. Rosenschein (2013), Moshe Tennenholtz (2012), Joe Halpern (2011), Jonathan Gratch and Stacy Marsella (2010), Manuela Veloso (2009), Yoav Shoham (2008), Sarit Kraus (2007), Michael Wooldridge (2006), Milind Tambe (2005), Makoto Yokoo (2004), Nick Jennings (2003), Katia Sycara (2002), and Tuomas Sandholm (2001).

The selection committee for the ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award is pleased to announce that Prof. David Parkes of Harvard University is the recipient of the 2017 award. Prof. Parkes' research has explored a variety of topics in multiagent systems and economics. His early work on combinatorial auctions made fundamental contributions to the theory of the field; other pioneering early work includes an influential synthesis of MDPs and mechanism design, a formalism for incentive-aligned, distributed mechanism design, and the development of market-based methods for resource allocation in sensor networks. Recent research of Prof. Parkes has applied machine learning to produce new results and techniques for human computation, mechanism design, and social choice. He has also provided sustained service to the Multiagent Systems and EconCS communities in key leadership roles.

## **IFAAMAS Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Award**

This award was started for dissertations defended in 2006 and is named for Professor Victor Lesser, a long standing member of the AAMAS community who has graduated a large number of outstanding PhD students in the area. To be eligible for the 2016 award, presented at AAMAS 2017, a dissertation had to have been written as part of a PhD defended during the year 2016, and had to be nominated by the supervisor with three supporting references.

Selection is based on originality, depth, impact and written quality, supported by quality publications. Previous winners of this award were Amos Azaria (2015), Yair Zick (2014), Manish Jain (2013), Birgit Endrass (2012), Daniel Villatoro (2011), Bo An (2010), Andrew Gilpin (2009), Ariel Procaccia (2008), Radu Jurca (2007), and Vincent Conitzer (2006).

The 2016 IFAAMAS Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Award recipient is Dr. Nisarg Shah, whose thesis titled "*Optimal Social Decision Making*" was supervised by Prof. Ariel Procaccia. The committee also wanted to recognize Dr. Fei Fang, whose thesis titled "*Towards Addressing Spatio-Temporal Aspects in Security Games*" was supervised by Prof. Milind Tambe.

## **IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award**

The International Foundation for Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems set up an influential paper award in 2006 to recognize publications that have made seminal contributions to the field. Such papers represent the best and most influential work in the area of autonomous agents and multi-agent systems. These papers might, therefore, have proved a key result, led to the development of a new sub-field, demonstrated a significant new application or system, or simply presented a new way of thinking about a topic that has proved influential. The award is open to any paper that was published at least 10 years before the award is made. The paper can have been published in any journal, conference, or workshop. The award is sponsored by the Agent Theories, Architectures and Languages foundation. This year's IFAAMAS Influential Paper Award winners are:

Justine Cassell, Catherine Pelachaud, Norman Badler, Mark Steedman, Brett Achorn, Tripp Becket, Brett Douville, Scott Prevost, Matthew Stone: "Animated conversation: Rule-based generation of facial expression, gesture & spoken intonation for multiple conversational agents", 21st Annual Conference on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques, pp. 413 - 420, 1994.

W.L. Johnson, J.W. Rickel, J.C. Lester, "Animated pedagogical agents: Face- to-face interaction in interactive learning environments". International Journal of Artificial Intelligence in Education 11, 47-78. 2000.