International Foundation for Autonomous Agents and Multiagent Systems  
ifaamas logo
ACM SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award

The ACM SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award is an annual award for excellence in research in the area of autonomous agents. The award is intended to recognize researchers in autonomous agents whose current work is an important influence on the field. The award is an official ACM award, funded by an endowment created by ACM SIGAI from the proceeds of previous Autonomous Agents conferences. Prior to 2014, it was known as the ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Award.
Candidates for the award are nominated through an open nomination process.

Previous winners of the award have been:
  • Carles Sierra (2019)
  • Craig Boutilier (2018)
  • David C. Parkes (2017)
  • Peter Stone (2016)
  • Catherine Pelachaud (2015)
  • Michael Wellman (2014)
  • Jeffrey S. Rosenschein (2013)
  • Moshe Tennenholtz (2012)
  • Joe Halpern (2011)
  • Jonathan Gratch and Stacy Marsella (2010)
  • Manuela Veloso (2009)
  • Yoav Shoham (2008)
  • Sarit Kraus (2007)
  • Michael Wooldridge (2006)
  • Milind Tambe (2005)
  • Makoto Yokoo (2004)
  • Nicholas R. Jennings (2003)
  • Katia Sycara (2002)
  • Tuomas Sandholm (2001)
For more information about the award, see